Youth Events

Governor’s Scholars

Four dozen high school students in the Archdiocese of Louisville were selected for the 2013 Governor’s Scholars Program.

  • Assumption High School — Johanna Butler, Bailey Davis, Kenzley Defler, Colleen Hess, Nicole Karem, Hannah Marks, Rebecca Mueller, Caroline Radmacher, Carroll Sandman and Samantha Tooill.
  • Bethlehem High School — Bethany Guthrie and Mackenzie Hagan.
  • DeSales High School — Jonathan Mattingly, Kenneth Nauert Jr., Matthew Schulman, Michael Schurfranz and Justin Tran.
  • Holy Cross High School — Rachel Young.
  • Mercy Academy — Lee Collins, Madeline Kramer, Juliana Lavey and Cayla Metzmeier.
  • Presentation Academy — McKenzie Eskridge, Karly Kindoll, Virginia Kuchenbrod and Margaret Sullivan.
  • Sacred Heart Academy — Margaux Savannah Crider, Kylie Louise Feger, Sarah Elizabeth Feldkamp, Madison Anne Harley, Kennedy Laine Karem, Lydia Christine Payton, Kayla Sophia Swiatek and Amy Michelle Teta.
  • St. Xavier High School — Samuel Bibelhauser, Orion Johns, Daniel Karem, Abishek Mahesh, Frank Marx IV, Carlos Munoz, Benjamin Otten, John Tompkins, Erik Vokoun and Frederick Weitendorf.
  • Trinity High School — Thomas Beyerle, Hayden DeLozier, Eric Elder and Sean Graham.

Student award

Mercy senior Alicia Kalbfleisch was selected for the Tom Leach’s 2013 All-Resilient Team. This honor is given to high school student-athletes from across Kentucky “who have overcome all sorts of hardships, injuries and obstacles to persevere in their chosen sport,” a release from the school said.
This is an initiative presented by sports announcer Tom Leach, “The Voice of the Kentucky Wildcats.”

Youth delegate

Trinity High School sophomore Andrew Ely has been selected to represent Kentucky as a National Youth Delegate to the 2013 Washington Youth Summit on the Environment at George Mason University June 23 to 28.

Congressional art

Three students at Catholic high schools in the Archdiocese of Louisville received awards at the 2013 Congressional Art Competition April 22, sponsored by Congressman John Yarmuth.
Madison Blevins, a student at Presentation Academy, earned third place honors for her photograph “A Portrait of Bernadette.”
Emma Lally from Assumption High School won the best use of narrative award for her photograph “Society’s Neglection.”
And, Trinity High School student Michael Rosenfeld won the best use of composition category for his photograph “My Phone & I.”
Winning entries can be viewed online at

National merit

Several students at Catholic high schools have received corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships. They are: Jacob Dennerlein, Bethlehem High School; Jonathan Fish, Brian Elliott and Nicholas Snider, St. Xavier High School.

Spring concert

St. Xavier High School will host a Spring concert May 9 at 7 p.m. in the school’s Brown-Forman Cultural Arts Center, 1609 Poplar Level Road.
The instrumental music concert is free and open to the public.

Letters of intent

Trinity High School seniors Darryl Hicks and Miles Rice signed national letters of intent to play basketball in college on April 24.
Hicks signed with Boston College and Rice signed with Campbellsville University.


Eleven members of the St. Xavier High School swimming and diving team were selected for the National Interscholastic Swimming Coaches Association of America, Inc. All-America Team.  They are: Nick Sehlinger, Anthony Caneris, Ryan McMillen, Rush Cromer, Mitchell Forde, Collins O’Brien, John Goldsborough, Ryan Leamy, Adam Van Camp, Joey Kitchen and Harrison Pruitt.
The varsity swimming and diving team has been awarded the Gold Scholar Team Award from NISCA for having an average GPA of 3.763 for the 43 varsity letter winners this year.

The Record
Written By
The Record
More from The Record
St. Meinrad Archabbey is hosting exhibit on Second Vatican Council
The Saint Meinrad Archabbey Library in St. Meinrad, Ind., is hosting an...
Read More
0 replies on “Youth Events”