Youth Events

Camp Africa

The Archdiocese of Louisville Office of Multicultural Ministry will offer its 2015 Camp Africa Freedom School Summer Academic & Cultural Enrichment Program June 15 to July 24 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Catholic Enrichment Center (CEC), 3146 W. Broadway.
The six-week program is for kids entering grades two through eight. The camp will offer academics as well as a “cultural arts experience from an africentric perspective.” The cost is $320 per child and includes breakfast, lunch and a snack. For more information or to register, call the CEC at 776-0262.


Dylan Stapp graduated from Holy Cross High School May 15 with a perfect school attendance record in both grade school and high school.
Stapp first attended Our Lady of Consolation School. Our Lady of Consolation closed along with St. Clement  and St. Polycarp schools to form St. Andrew Academy, where Stapp finished his elementary education.

Swimming honor

Leah Stevens, a 2015 graduate of Sacred Heart Academy, was named the Rudy J. Ellis Kentucky High School Athlete of the Year for 2015.
Stevens won the Kentucky High School Athletic Association state titles in the 500 freestyle, 200 freestyle relay and the 400 freestyle relay and helped lead her swim team to their third consecutive state championship title, a news release from the school said.
She will attend Stanford University this fall.

100 black men

Canon Jackson, a 2015 graduate of Trinity High School, is the recipient of the 100 Black Men of Louisville — Louisville Chapter Future Leaders scholarship. Jackson will attend Western Kentucky University.


Cameron Barnett, a junior at Trinity High School, has been selected to participate in the New Albany Entrepreneurship Academy June 14-19. The course is sponsored by Purdue University and Indiana University Southeast.

MIT program

Jorge Rojas-Ortega, a junior at Trinity High School, has been selected to join the 2015 Massachusetts Institute of Technology Online Science, Technology and Engineering Community (MOSTEC). The program runs from July 6, 2015, to Jan. 9, 2016, and will offer several courses including aeronautical and astronautical engineering, astrophysics and computer science. Rojas-Ortega will attend the MOSTEC Conference on MIT’s campus in August.

Ag program

Andrew Hankins, a Trinity High School freshman, has been selected to attend the Lincoln University United States Department of Agriculture Discovery Program in Jefferson City, Mo., July 12-25. The program teaches students about animal and plant science, aquaculture, urban gardening and cultural enhancement, a news release from the school said.

Law institute

Damon McClain, a Trinity High School sophomore, has been accepted to the Louisville Bar Association’s Summer Law Institute June 7-13, hosted by the University of Louisville’s Louis D. Brandeis School of Law.
In addition, McClain was also accepted to the Saint Louis University Sports Business Summer Academy, which will run June 23-27.

Media awards

Trinity High School broadcast journalism students won six awards in a contest held by the Kentucky High School Journalism Association:

  • Trinity television staff — first place, best newsmagazine.
  • Ryan Trefes — first place, best news feature package and third place, videography.
  • Justin Karem and Nathan Schmitt — first place, news package.
  • Ryan Trefes and Robert Espinueva — third place, news package.
  • Noah Ball — second place, voiceover.

Members of the school’s ECHO online newspaper staff also won awards in the contest. Henry Dent, a 2014 graduate, won second in photography. Ryan Cywinski placed third in columns.

SPAVA awards

Thirty-eight Catholic school students recently received awards from the Society for the Prevention of Aggressiveness and Violence Among Adolescents (SPAVA). They students and the school they attend are:

  • St. Andrew Academy — Emily Barz, Haylee Ashabraner, Hunter Hieatt and Laura Tinnell.
  • St. Stephen Martyr School  — Jessica Just.
  • St. Nicholas Academy — May Willcox, Alexandra Rapp, Abigail P. Recktenwald, Ana Ibrahimkadic, Meredith Tanner, John Thornton, Abby Templeman, Erin Templeman, Katie Templeman, Anthony Miller, Jessica Cundiff, Jason Higdon, Maika Nguyen, Vivian Nguyen, Cole Vance and Breanna Smythe.
  • Notre Dame Academy — Josh Minor, Sydney Brothers, Angel Booker, Sierra Willis, Peyton Nalley, Josh Smalley, Luke Reed, Maddie Cissell, Cory Miller, Melody Dant, Brianna Ware, Megan Zoeller, Caleb Wiegandt, Gracie Sapp, Amanda Thornsberry, Kirstin Tuori and John Thomas Recktenwald.

Media contest

The Assumption High School newspaper, The Rosecall, won first place in the American Scholastic Press Association annual national newspaper contest.
Assumption’s newspaper staff also won several awards in the Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence competition at Western Kentucky University including second place in multimedia production for the online site. In addition, Jenny Anderson won second place for best editorial cartoon and Victoria Shircliffe placed third in editorial writing.

The Record
Written By
The Record
More from The Record
Catholic Charities receives national recognition for housing work
Catholic Charities of Louisville and the Housing Partnership, Inc., were recognized recently...
Read More
0 replies on “Youth Events”