Nine Father Morgan scholars announced, will be honored

Record Staff Writer

Nine high school seniors who attend Catholic high schools in the Archdiocese of Louisville were recently awarded the Father John H. Morgan Scholarship.

The scholarship is sponsored by the Catholic Education Foundation.

The winners are:

Grace Elizabeth Smith, Assumption High School
Hannah Grace Avery, Bethlehem High School
Kaleb Stephen Kindoll, DeSales High School
Kristen Lynn Snodgress, Holy Cross High School
Parker Lois Greg, Mercy Academy
Sabrina Nhi Tran, Presentation Academy
Ihechiluru Chinyere Igwe, Sacred Heart Academy
Sergio Pablo Diaz, St. Xavier High School
Samuel Parker Batcheldor, Trinity High School.

Each student will receive a $7,500 grant to the college of their choice.

The students will be recognized at the Salute to Catholic School Alumni dinner March 27 at the Galt House Hotel.

Before his death Father Morgan, a priest of the Archdiocese of Louisville, established a charitable trust that would provide a college scholarship to a qualifying senior from each of the Catholic high schools in the archdiocese. The trust has awarded more than $1 million to approximately 180 students.

Father Morgan stipulated that the trust would be limited to 20 years. When the trust dissolved last fall, the trustees decided to transfer the bulk of the remaining funds to the CEF.

When the trust began, each student received $1,000 toward the cost of their college education. The amount increased over the years eventually amounting to a $7,000 award. When the CEF gained control of the funds last fall, they vowed to steadily increase the award amount.

The Record
Written By
The Record
More from The Record
Father Kenneth Kamber, a long-time pastor, dies at 95
Father Kenneth L. Kamber, a long-time pastor, died April 21. He was...
Read More
0 replies on “Nine Father Morgan scholars announced, will be honored”