Louisville Catholic Sports holds annual awards banquet

The Louisville Catholic Sports Network held its fourth annual awards night at the Audubon Country Club May 14.

Nine awards and scholarships were presented in seven categories. The LCSN has awarded more than $24,000 in scholarships to student athletes, managers and sports journalism students who attend Catholic high schools in the Archdiocese of Louisville.

WDRB sports director Tom Lane served as the evening’s emcee, and Pulitzer Prize-winning sportswriter Billy Reed spoke about character in sports. Dean Wells, Holy Cross High School alumni and a former National Football League player, was the guest speaker.

Courtney Crable of Mercy Academy and DeSales High School student Mike Schurfranz were named the Bonnycastle Appliance and TV Student-Athletes of the Year. Crable was the 2013 Kentucky Miss Volleyball and an Under Armour All-American. She was also the 2012 Kentucky Gatorade Player of the Year and has a 3.94 grade point average.

Schurfranz has a 4.0 grade point average and is ranked second in his class. He plays soccer and basketball at DeSales.

The Toby Tours Distinguished Character Award was presented to Sacred Heart Academy basketball player Raven Merriweather. Despite a torn anterior cruciate ligament the previous year, Merriweather helped lead her team to the Sweet 16 for the first time in a decade.

Nick Eckert of Trinity High School received the Mulloy Properties Community Service Award. He is in the top three of his class, runs cross country and track and dedicates numerous hours to community service.

Assumption High School’s Jenna Kapfhammer was presented with the R.G. Stallings Student Manager Award. She was manager for both the basketball and softball teams.

The Publishers Press Billy Reed Journalism Awards were presented to DeSales student Joey Gardner for his story on DeSales’ first football state championship and to Trinity’s David Mulhall for photography.

Presentation Academy’s Courtney Carrico and St. Xavier High School student Paxton Duff each won the inaugural Fuzzy Zoeller A.C.E. Award for golf. Carrico and Duff both participated in the state golf tournament.

The Record
Written By
The Record
More from The Record
Editorial — Immigration reform is needed
Immigration reform shouldn’t be a political football or a contentious issue, but...
Read More
0 replies on “Louisville Catholic Sports holds annual awards banquet”