Dinner will honor Catholic African American leaders

The Office of Multicultural Ministry will honor more than a dozen people for their work in the community during its 29th annual African American Catholic Leadership Awards Dinner at 6 p.m. March 5 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, 830 Phillips Lane.

Also during the event, 13 young people will receive Rodriq McCravy Scholarship Awards — three high school and 10 college scholarships. Proceeds from the annual dinner fund the scholarships.

Two people from the Diocese of Cleveland will receive the office’s highest honor, the Acacia Award. This award, which will be presented to Vanessa Griffin Campbell and Antoinette Smith, recognizes the recipients’ “many years of service to the community at large,” according to an announcement from the office.

The office’s Genevieve Boone Award, which recognizes “trailblazers in the areas of cultural enrichment, education and formation from an Africentric perspective,” will be presented to Mattie Little of St. Augustine Church, the announcement said.

A dozen others will receive the 2016 African American Catholic Leadership Awards.

The recipients and their parishes are:
Charles Dillard, William Harris and Sheila Pitts of St. Augustine; Lolita Ewing, Jessica Holman and Anna Mary Stith of St. Martin de Porres Church; John Graves of Holy Rosary Church in Springfield, Ky.; Wallace Judie of Immaculate Heart of Mary Church; Mae Laird of St. Ignatius Martyr Church; Anita Miles of Christ the King Church; Bernadette Stanley of St. Monica Church in Bardstown, Ky.; and Gloria Walker of the Church of the Epiphany.

The three high school students who will receive Rodriq McCravy Scholarship Awards are Jared Carter, who will attend Trinity High School; MacKenzie Connor, who plans to attend Presentation Academy; and Katelyn McKinley, who will attend Mercy Academy.

College scholarships will be presented to:
Cory Bowman of Christ the King; Daisha Edelen and Markus Ford of Holy Rosary; Blake Harris of St. Augustine; Austin Harrison, Chavon Jackson and Michael Wright Jr. of St. Monica; Amari Hughes and Mylon Cox of St. Martin de Porres; and Jarie Newby of St. Augustine Church in Lebanon, Ky.

Tickets to the event, which includes a silent auction that opens at 5 p.m., are $70 and should be purchased in advance. For more information, call the office at 636-0296, ext. 1245.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *