DeSales’ Hall of Honors dinner will be held Sept. 2

Four DeSales High School alumni will be inducted into the school’s Hall of Honors during a dinner in their honor on Sept. 2 at the school, 425 W. Kenwood Drive. Three others will be honored at the dinner.

William “Bubba” Paris, a 1978 DeSales graduate and former National Football League champion, will be the guest speaker.

“The designation of Hall of Honors inductee is the highest distinction bestowed by DeSales High School,” said a statement from the school.

“Inductees have distinguished themselves and DeSales through their outstanding accomplishments, character or commitment to DeSales.”
This year’s Hall of Honors inductees are:

  • Terry Barney is a 1973 graduate who has served at DeSales as a teacher, coach and admissions director for 30 years. Barney is also known for being the mascot of the University of Kentucky Wildcats during his college days.
  • Carmelite Father William J. Harry, a 1972 graduate, is prior provincial of the Most Pure Heart of Mary Carmelite Province. Father Harry serves as the province’s “spiritual leader as well as the official representative of the province to the Carmelite General Curia and to other ecclesial and civic authorities,” an announcement from the school said.
  • Joey McFarland, a 1990 graduate, is a film producer and co-founder of Red Granite Pictures. He produced the film “The Wolf of Wall Street,” which received an Academy Award nomination for Best Picture in 2014.
  • Jim Schnellenberger, a 1964 graduate, is a decorated veteran of the United States Navy. Schnellenberger served for 26 years, during which time he rose to the rank of commander. His military decorations include: Meritorious Service Medal with Gold Star, Navy Commendation Medal with Gold Star, Navy Achievement Medal and National Defense Medal with one star.

Three others will be honored with special awards. Thomas Britt, class of 2004, will receive the Young Alumnus Award; Jeff Mumford, a parent of a DeSales student, will receive the Outstanding Service Award; and Kate Brockman, a member of the DeSales faculty will be honored with the President’s Award.

The Hall of Honors dinner will begin at 7 p.m.; doors open at 6 p.m. The cost is $45 per person or $360 for a table of eight. Attendees should register by Aug. 28. Register online at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *