Day Spring holds annual dinner, awards celebration

The 21st annual “Day Spring Dinner & Awards Celebration” was held Nov. 6  at The Olmsted on Frankfort Ave., and its theme was “Looking Back, Looking Ahead.”

The theme reflected the closing of the yearlong celebration of Day Spring’s 20th anniversary. State Rep. Tom Burch led the “looking back” portion of the program while State Rep. Jim Wayne presented the “look ahead.”

The awards presentations saw Burch receive the “Legislative Lifetime Achievement Award.” Sister Debbie Kern was presented the Kenny Kimbel Heart of Day Spring Award, while Brown-Forman Corporation received the Spirit of Day Spring Award.

Donna Taylor was presented the Billy Coakley Memorial DSP (direct service professional) of the Year Award and Destiny Jackson received the Rising Star DSP Award.

Executive Director Sarah Trester also introduced a new award to be presented in the future — the Billy Coakley Memorial DSP of the Year Award. The award honors a direct support professional selected by his/her peers. Coakley was a resident of Day Spring’s Baxter Avenue apartments until last February when he passed away.

Tags from the story
The Record
Written By
The Record
More from The Record
Students participate in spring break mission trips
By Jessica Able, Record Staff Writer While many students were having fun...
Read More
0 replies on “Day Spring holds annual dinner, awards celebration”