Catechists honored at annual event

Record Staff Report

archloulogo-wThe Archdiocese of Louisville’s Office of Lifelong Formation and Education (OLFE) honored about 100 people who have committed to studying their faith Sept. 22 during its annual Faith Formation Celebration.

OLFE is one of the 100 or so ministries and programs supported by the archdiocesan-wide Catholic Services Appeal, which will officially begin on Oct. 1.

The Faith Formation Celebration, held at the Flaget Center, came on the heals of Catechetical Sunday, observed on Sept. 18 this year. During the evening gathering, all levels of learning were honored — from those earning their first certifications as catechists to those who recently earned master’s degrees.

The office’s annual Roncalli Award was also presented during the event. There were three recipients this year — Christina Furmon, Ann Pifer and Bob Sugrue. The award, named for St. John XXIII (Cardinal Roncalli), recognizes “catechists who have been ignited by the spirit of Vatican II to spread the faith through catechesis,” according to the award description.

Following is a listing of all those who were recognized:

  • Seven people who completed master’s degrees from Loyola University in New Orleans were honored. Alice Bridges, Jeffery Kendrick, Christopher Tolbert and Kathleen Williams earned master’s degrees in pastoral studies. And Chad Bader, Eva Gonzalez and Carole Magee earned master’s degrees in religious education.
  • Seven people who completed a specialization in discipleship were honored. This program focuses on “the spiritual and faith formation of the person while providing an intentional process for gift discernment and theological reflection to help develop ways to live out one’s faith,” an announcement said.
    The honorees are Sarah Buntin, Mary Cardoza-Lane, Bernard Fineman, Robert Korte, Robin Murphey, Anthony Palaisa and Sheila Stocksdale.
  • Karie French was honored for earning a certificate in youth ministry from the University of Dayton
    Certificates in Youth Ministry also were presented to Megan Clark, Valerie Greenwell, Andrea Hoback, Ericka Newton, Jonna O’Bryan, Amy Olson, Anna Peterson, Joe Recktenwald, John Sohl, Steve Wilson and Clare Wolz.
  • Catechists who have completed 20 clock hours of formation classes were named associate catechist.
    They are: Lindsey Ackerman, Dana Bale, Jennifer Barz, Lauren Bell, Jessica Berry, Courtney Billig, Christina Brittian, Mary Cardoza-Lane, Nicole Cox, Hanna Crooks, Jennifer Delozier, Margie DeMuth, Kathleen Doyle, Lori Driskell, Stephanie Gerstle, Valerie Greenwell, Mary Harriott, Lisa Hermes.
    Ashley Hogue, Lindsay Holland, Heather Hunt, Rachel Jakubiak, Lawrence McCrobie, Steven Mercer, Beverly Meschede, Alison Milby, Emily Mills, Terry Mullaney, Terrance Nelson, Ericka Newton, Jonna O’Bryan, Amy Olson, Mary Owen, Anthony Palaisa, Heather Patterson, Anna Peterson, Jacqui Rapp, Katie Ray, Joe Recktenwald, Laura Rogers, Kevin Sedelmeier, Haley Senninger, Emily Slater, Laurie Spencer, Michael Swearingen, Julie Ann Taafe, Bill Unruh, Amanda White, Stephen Williamson, Steve Wilson, Clare Wolz, Kelly Young and Jennifer Zoeller.
  • Catechists who have completed the associate level plus 120 hours were named advanced catechists. They are Lynn Barger, Julianna Daly, Mary Dyar, Steve Finch, Leola Sweeny and Martha Troncone.
  • Ten catechists who have completed the advanced level plus 80 hours were named master catechists. They are Susan Adams, Chad Bader, Kathleen Bennett, Sarah Brian, Kevin Caspersen, Beatrice Cutler, Peggy Gray, Tamara Herbert, Donna Kamer and Helen Maxedon.
The Record
Written By
The Record
More from The Record
Ulmer family awards major gift to CEF
By Ruby Thomas, Record Staff Writer The Catholic Education Foundation (CEF) has...
Read More
0 replies on “Catechists honored at annual event”