African American Catholic Leadership Awards Banquet to be held March 1

The Archdiocese of Louisville’s Office of Multicultural Ministry (OMM) will present its 27th annual African American Catholic Leadership Awards Banquet March 1 at 6 p.m. at the Seelbach Hilton Hotel, 500 S. Fourth St. in downtown Louisville. A silent auction will open the evening’s events at 5 p.m.

Eleven adults and 13 young people will be honored during the event for leadership in their church and school communities. All proceeds from the evening will provide scholarships to the youth honorees for secondary and post-secondary education.

The banquet’s highest honor, the Acacia Award, will be presented to Chris Tolbert, director of worship for St. Thomas More and Our Lady of Mount Carmel churches. The award honors his years of service to the community.

The Genevieve Boone Award will be presented to Marigold Williams, a member of Christ the King Church. The award honors “trailblazers in the areas of cultural enrichment, education and formation from an Africentric perspective,” according to a news release from OMM.

Nine others will receive African American Catholic Leadership Awards. They are: Michael and Carol Cuyjet of the Church of the Epiphany; Charles T. Churchill and Angela Robinson Linton of Holy Rosary Church, Springfield, Ky.; Susan Ann Gibbs of Immaculate Heart of Mary Church; Charles Gazaway of St. Boniface Church; Susan Cole of St. Ignatius Martyr Church; William Mathis of St. Martin de Porres Church; and Stephanie Harrison and William Alden Payne of St. Monica Church, Bardstown, Ky.

The 13 young people receiving Rodriq McCravy Awards include five eighth-graders and eight high school seniors.

The eighth-graders are Marshall C. Washington and Casey Williams of Christ the King; Alonna L. Roberson of St. Martin de Porres; and Shequan Hayes and MaAliyah Hodge of St. Monica.

The high school senior award recipients are Skyla Lanae Graves of Holy Rosary; DaShana Lockhart of Immaculate Heart of Mary; Amos Igwe of St. Albert the Great Church; Jordan Crosby and Malik I. Logan of St. Augustine Church, Louisville; and Debbie Beausejour, Aaliyah T. Taylor and Jasmine Turner of St. Martin de Porres.

Tickets to the event are $50 and must be purchased in advance. For more information, call 471-2146.

The Record
Written By
The Record
More from The Record
Sister of Charity of Nazareth Mary Jo Pfefferman dies at 96
Sister of Charity of Nazareth Mary Jo Pfefferman, a native of Alexandria,...
Read More
0 replies on “African American Catholic Leadership Awards Banquet to be held March 1”