Youth Events

Living rosary

The 63rd annual “Living Rosary Procession” will be held Oct. 5 at 3 p.m. at Assumption High School, 2170 Tyler Lane.
Children in grades one to 12 are encouraged to take part in the procession. There will be one practice session for children. It will be held at 1:30 p.m. Oct. 4 at Assumption.
For additional information, call Becky Glasser at 267-6650 or email her at

Family night

Mercy Academy will host a family night Sept. 12. Activities will include inflatable amusement bouncers, face painting and an outdoor movie. Free Chick-fil-A sandwiches will be available to the first 125 guests. Popcorn and snacks will be available for purchase.
Attendees are encouraged to bring blankets and chairs for a movie screening. The doors open at 6:30 p.m. and the movie will begin at 8:30 p.m.

Jefferson scholars

Ninety-one recent graduates of high schools in the Archdiocese of Louisville have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.
These students have also been awarded $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) funds. The students will receive $10,000 to use toward a four-year degree if they maintain their grades.
The designation honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997, a news release from KHEAA said.
The scholars are:
-Assumption High School — Ann Adams, Meredith Burnham, Johanna Butler, Kenzley Defler, Madigan Dial, Taylor Fralick, Colleen Hess, Kendall Horan, Nicole Karem, Hannah Marks, Mary McWilliams, Julia Mikulec, Rebecca Mueller, Katie Norton, Caroline Radmacher, Rhona Thomson, Samantha Tooill and Mckenzie White.
-Bethlehem High School: Bethany Guthrie, Mackenzie Hagan and Elinor Simms.
-DeSales High School — Jonathan Mattingly and Michael Schurfranz.
-Holy Cross High School: Rebecca Miller.
-Mercy Academy: Emma Collins, Lee Collins, Victoria Lasley, Juliana Lavey, Courtney Lush, Cayla Metzmeier, Claire Schortmann and Danielle Tackett.
-Presentation Academy: Margaret Sullivan.
-Sacred Heart Academy: Taylor Apel, Katrina Bajorinas, Brooklyn Bell, Joanne Bodhaine, Anna Brewer, Margaux Crider, Elizabeth Daly, Peyton Davis, Kylie Feger, Sarah Feldkamp, Courtney Flaherty, Anna Fowler, Kathryn Gathof, Rachel Gathof, Cathryn Hamm, Madison Harley, Caroline Hockenbury, Grace Lancaster, Megan Lenahan, Zoe Marcum, Gabriella Mastropaolo, Gabrielle Oropilla, Allison Overfield, Lydia Payton, Kaitlyn Samuels, Gabriella Scott, Parker Shay, Shelby Stinson, Kayla Swiatek and Amy Teta.
-St. Xavier High School: Joseph Bousamra, Robert Buse III, John Crooks, Paxton Duff, Brian Ford, John Fultz, Glen Gnadinger, William Hellman, Nicholas Laventis, Kevin Lush, Abishek Mahesh, Frank Marx IV, Benjamin Metzger, Matthew Ogburn, Zachary Revers, Ian Scott, Samuel Sheffer, Evan Tomlinson, John Tompkins, Erik Vokoun, Frederick Weitendorf and Andrew Wentzel.
-Trinity High School: Thomas Beyerle, Jack Harrison, Chandler Lichtefeld, Ismail Qadir, Mitchell Smith and Charles Tancula.

St. Bernard walk

St. Bernard School will hold its annual Wildcat Walk fundraiser for the school on Sept. 26. This year, in honor of the school’s 50th anniversary, the class of 1964 and other alumni are invited to participate in the walk or donate to the fundraiser. Proceeds will fund improvements in school technology, classrooms and other school facilities.

Rosary rally

Five hundred student athletes and coaches, including four from St. Xavier High School, attended a rosary rally at the Athenaeum of Ohio July 31, organized by SportsLeader, a virtue-based mentoring program.

The Record
Written By
The Record
More from The Record
Founders of St. Jude Foundation of Louisville to be honored May 22
George and June Merrifield, members of St. Bernadette Church, will be honored...
Read More
0 replies on “Youth Events”