Loretto Sisters elect new leaders, who will take office on Jan. 1

Record Staff Report

The Sisters of Loretto elected Sister Barbara Nicholas as their new president at the congregation’s weeklong delegate assembly earlier this month at Paroquet Springs Conference Centre in Shepherdsville, Ky.

Sister Nicholas, a native of Louisville, will serve a six-year term. She will take office Jan. 1, 2019. She currently serves as a member of Loretto’s executive committee and community forum. In June, she resigned after 38 years as a cancer resource nurse for Baptist Health Louisville.

The president of the Loretto Sisters provides “leadership and a focus of unity in fostering the life and mission of the Loretto community,” a news release from the congregation said.

Assisting the president in this effort is the executive committee, which consists of the vice president and four other members who serve in an advisory and decision-making capacity.

Sister Mary Margaret Murphy of El Paso, Texas, was elected to the office of vice president. Sisters Sharon Kassing of St. Louis and Catherine Mueller, Mary Catherine Rabbitt and Vicki Schwartz, all of Lakewood, Colo., were also elected to the executive committee. All will serve three-year terms beginning Jan. 1.

Members of Loretto’s community forum also were elected. They are Loretto co-members Jane German, Susan Kenney, Sonja Earthman Novo, Paulette Peterson and Mary Helen Sandoval. They will serve three-year terms.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *