Catholic scouting committee honors scouts, adult leaders

The Catholic Committee on Scouting honored scouts and adult leaders at the annual Prayer Service and Emblem Presentation Jan. 31 at the Cathedral of the Assumption in downtown Louisville. Father Jeff Gatlin, chaplain for the committee, and Deacon Dan Bisig presided at the service.

The following awards were presented:

  • Four adults received the St. George Emblem for outstanding contributions to Catholic scouting. They are Jennifer and Ken Lamkin of St. Athanasius Church and James Carlin and David Schultz of St. Martha Church.
  • Seven units were presented with the National Quality Unit Award, Pope Paul VI Recognition: Pack 175 and Troop 175 of St. Edward Church, Troop 243 of St. John Paul II Church, Pack 346 and Troop 346 of St. Gabriel Church and Pack 366 and Troop 366 of St. Athanasius.
  • The Pope Pius XII Emblem was presented to 18 high school-age scouts in the following units:
    Troop 51, St. Peter the Apostle Church — Tyler Pierce and Sam Wethington.
    Troop 319, St. Leonard Church — Cole Becherer (Holy Spirit), Tate Becherer (Holy Spirt), Oxford Dilger (Holy Spirit), Carl Grief and John Roberts (Holy Spirit).
    Troop 346, St. Gabriel — Spencer Brown, John Campbell, Stephen Corbett, Bradley Miller, Alan Pascua (Ascension) and Will Stodghill (Ascension) and Conner Treufeldt.
    Troop 366, St. Athanasius — K.J. Beam, Brian Kehne, Nick Kehne and Christian Lamkin.
  • Forty-eight scouts received the Ad Altare Dei (To the Altar of God) Emblem. They are:
    Troop 4, St. Agnes Church — Paul Greenberg, Collin Helline, Alexander Hiland, Peter Rolfe and Austin Webb.
    Troop 42, St. Raphael Church — Quinn Cleary, Sean Creed, Tommy Farmer, Brady McCaw, Lucas Murphy and Cameron Smith.
    Troop 175, St. Edward — Lucas Connelly, Jackson McArthur, Evan Ryan and Samuel Stewart.
    Troop 233, Memorial United Methodist Church and St. James Church in Elizabethtown, Ky. — Ben Hargan, Hudson Harner, Jeffrey Kristensen and William Shepherd.
    Troop 243, St. John Paul II — Christian Berendsen (St. Martin of Tours), Kenneth Botner (St. Martin of Tours), Andrew Craven (St. Gabriel), Ryan Early, Patrick Heitkemper (St. Martin of Tours), Jamie Heitkemper (St. Martin of Tours) and Evan Sheehy.
    Troop 303, St. James in Elizabethtown — Matthew Barnes and Gavin Davis.
    Troop 315, Watkins Memorial Church — Dominick Delsignore (St. Raphael).
    Troop 346, St. Gabriel — Nicholas Brown, Caleb Fraze, Eddy Fraze, Waylon Metts and Jordan Wolken.
    Troop 380, St. Patrick Church — Daniel Kirwan, Jack Koenig, Ian Mayer, Christopher Monell, Jacob Rummel (St. Albert the Great), Xavier Salimbangon and Jonathan Shrode.
    Troop 477, St. Aloysius Church in Pewee Valley, Ky. — Scott Cimbalo, Aidan Kolb, James Kramer, A.J. Mangione, Ryan O’Dea, Colton State, Christopher Stephens and Justin Varga.

In addition, 69 Cub Scouts received the Parvuli Dei (Children of God) Emblem and 43 Cub Scouts received the Light of Christ Emblem.

The Record
Written By
The Record
More from The Record
Trinity High School students sign letters of intent
Nineteen Trinity High School seniors signed national letters of intent to play...
Read More
0 replies on “Catholic scouting committee honors scouts, adult leaders”