Catechists honored by the Office of Faith Formation

Record Staff Report

The Archdiocese of Louisville’s annual Faith Formation Celebration honored 59 people and one school at the Flaget Center Sept. 26.

The Office of Faith Formation presented three people with Roncalli Awards. The award, named for St. John XXIII (Cardinal Roncalli), recognizes “catechists who have been ignited by the spirit of Vatican II to spread the faith through catechesis.”

This year’s Roncalli Award recipients are:

  • Mollie Bystrek, a parishioner of St. Augustine Church in Lebanon, Ky., has taught at St. Augustine School for 37 years. “Through her reliance and trust in the Holy Spirit’s guidance, she sees Christ in all whom she serves,” her nomination form said.
  • Donald Coffman, a parishioner of Sacred Heart Church in Liberty, Ky., has been involved in catechetical ministry for most of his life. He has served as a director of religious education and is a Benedictine oblate. Coffman was described in his nomination letter as one who is “committed to serving the people of God and building the kingdom of God in Casey County.”
  • Amy Gaekle, the director of faith formation for Incarnation and St. Paul parishes, helps coordinate, facilitate and teach in Dixie Catholic Faith Formation, a regional religious education program. She also organized a faith group called Soul Sisters to bring together the women of St. Paul and Incarnation.

The Office of Faith Formation honored DeSales High School with the Father Thomas Duerr Award. This award is presented to a parish or school where 100 percent of its catechists have completed the associate level of the concentration in catechetical ministry.

The evening’s other honorees were:

  • Thirty-nine catechists who have completed 20  hours of formation classes were named associate catechists.
  • Catechists who have completed the associate level plus 120 hours were named advanced catechists. They are: Tina Chaput, Ashley Davenport, Taffie Duchworth, Gail Edwards, Mary Fichter and Laura Jones.
  • Twelve catechists who completed the advanced level plus 80 hours were named master catechists. They are: Sandra Blanford, Mollie Bystrek, Kathleen DeLozier, Renee Guidry, Lori Hadorn-Disselkamp, Maryann Hayslip, Joan Huber, Nancy Leopold, Carole Magee, Lawrence McCrobie, Amy Olson and Phyllis Sower.

Five individuals were also recognized for completion of graduate-level ministry degrees at Loyola University, New Orleans. They are:

Kelsey Hillary earned a master of religious education.

Jane Cruthirds, Lori Hadorn-Disselkamp and Julie Stewart earned master of spirituality degrees.

Joan Huber earned a master of youth ministry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *