Archbishop to pray for justice, healing at liturgy

The Sacred Heart of Jesus is depicted in a modern painting by Stephen B. Whatley, an expressionist artist based in London. Archbishop Jose H. Gomez of Los Angeles, president of the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops, will lead the nation in prayer at this time of the coronavirus on Good Friday, April 10, 2020. U.S. Catholics are invited to join him in praying the Litany of the Sacred Heart of Jesus “to seek our Savior’s healing and protection” at noon (EDT), 11 a.m. (CDT), 10 a.m. (MDT) and 9 a.m. (PDT). To participate and pray as one nation, go to https://lacatholics.org/sacred-heart or facebook.com/usccb. (CNS photo/Stephen B. Whatley)

On June 19 at 8 a.m., Archbishop Joseph E. Kurtz will preside at the daily Mass at Holy Family Church, 3938 Poplar Level Road, the solemnity of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus.

Mass will end with the Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament and the Litany of the Sacred Heart.

As seating permits (limited to 100-125), Catholics throughout the Archdiocese of Louisville are invited to join in prayers for justice, peace and healing. Parishioners also may join the archbishop in prayer virtually.

The liturgy will be live-streamed on the archdiocesan Facebook page, @CatholicArchLou.

An announcement about the liturgy concluded, “Together we pray, ‘Sacred Heart of Jesus, make our hearts like unto Thine’ as we reject the sin of racism, uphold human dignity and seek a better path.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *