African American Leadership awards to be March 3

25th anniversary event is sponsored
by the Office of Multicultural Ministry

Record Assistant Editor

The Archdiocese of Louisville’s Office of Multicultural Ministry will present the 25th annual African American Leadership Awards Banquet at 6 p.m. March 3 at the Louisville Marriott Downtown, 280 West Jefferson St.

The keynote speaker will be Archbishop of Atlanta Wilton D. Gregory, former president of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. Proceeds from the banquet fund scholarships for African American Catholic young people.

During the banquet, scholarships will be awarded to six young people who’ve demonstrated leadership skills in their churches and schools. Fourteen adults also will be honored for their service and leadership in the African American Catholic community.

The highest honor, the Acacia Award, will be presented to three people for their years of service to the community. The award will be presented to Archbishop of Louisville Joseph E. Kurtz, to Bertharene Young of the Diocese of Memphis and to Clinton Bennett, who volunteers with the Office of Multicultural Ministry.

The Genevieve Boone Award, presented annually to an individual who exhibits a high level of commitment to his or her faith, will be presented to Edna Lillian Coleman, a member of St. Martin de Porres Church.

In addition, African American Catholic Leadership Awards will be presented to 10 individuals. They are: Marvina Lewis, Immaculate Heart of Mary Church; Eugene Broadus, St. Augustine Church in Louisville; Peg’O Shaw, St. Augustine, Louisville.

Also, Terry Hickman, St. Monica Church in Bardstown, Ky.; George Smalley, St. Augustine Church in Lebanon, Ky.; Evelyn Glass, Christ the King Church; Jamesetta Elery, St. Ignatius Church; Glenn Miles, St. Martin de Porres Church; Margaret Staples, St. Augustine, Louisville; and Flora Clark, St. Monica in Bardstown, Ky.

Rodriq McGravy scholarship awards will be presented to student leaders. Eighth-grader Michael Wright of St. Monica Church will receive a scholarship for high school.

Five others will receive scholarships for college. They are: Jeffrey Mitchell Jr. of St. Martin de Porres; Maya Hardin of Christ the King; Donté Beausejour of St. Martin de Porres; Zana Yocum of Holy Rosary Church in Springfield, Ky.; and Jalen Phillips of St. Monica.

The celebration will open with the silent auction at 5 p.m., and tickets are $45, available by calling the Office of Multicultural Ministry at 471-2146.

The Record
Written By
The Record
More from The Record
Spalding’s 2015 Keenan Lecture will focus on religion, sustainability
Spalding University’s 2015 Keenan Lecture will be presented by Rabbi Natan Margalit,...
Read More
0 replies on “African American Leadership awards to be March 3”