31st annual event will honor African Americans

Record Staff Report

The Archdiocese of Louisville’s Office of Multicultural Ministry (OMM) will present its 31st Annual African American Catholic Leadership Awards Dinner March 10 at 6 p.m. at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, 830 Phillips Lane. A silent auction will open the evening’s events at 5 p.m.

Six adults and 12 young people will be honored for leadership in their church and school communities. All proceeds from the evening will provide scholarships to the young honorees for secondary and post-secondary education.

The banquet’s highest honor, the Genevieve Boone Award, will be presented to Adrienne R. Taylor-Mitchell a member of St. Martin
de Porres Church.

Eleven others will receive African American Catholic Leadership Awards. They are: Charlene “Toni” Bowman of Christ the King Church; Robert “Steve” DeSha and Shirley Ann Gardner of St. Augustine Church in Louisville; Rita Johnson and Dianne Walker of St. Martin de Porres Church.

The 12 young honorees, — two eighth-graders and 10 high school seniors — will receive Rodriq McCravy Awards.

The eighth-graders are Samantha Payne of St. Monica Church in Bardstown, Ky., and JaBriah Robinson of Immaculate Heart of Mary Church.

The high school award recipients are Angela Billups and Marshall Washington of Christ the King Church; Charles Churchill of St. Augustine Church; Brandon Eugene of Immaculate Heart of Mary Church; Shaquan Hayes, MaAliyah Hodge and Patricia Payne of St. Monica Church; Destine Irabaruta of St. Thomas More Church;  and Alonna Roberson and Shantel Walton of St. Martin de Porres Church.

Tickets to the event are $70 and should be purchased in advance. For more information, call the OMM at 471-2146.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *