134 archdiocesan students recognized by Duke University

One hundred thirty four students in 27 Archdiocese of Louisville Catholic schools received recognition in the annual Duke University Talent Identification Program (TIP).

TIP identifies academically talented seventh-graders in public, nonpublic and home schools based on their scores on standardized tests taken in elementary or middle school. These students take either the SAT or ACT college entrance exam.

Based on their scores, students may receive “grand recognition” or “state recognition.” Those scoring at the highest levels receive “grand recognition.”

Ten local Catholic school students received “grand recognition.” They are: Collin Kemper of St. Aloysius School in Pewee Valley, Ky.; Nicholas Canaday of St. Agnes School; Lauryn Grady of St. Francis of Assisi School; Kathryn Seay of Holy Trinity School; Melanie Duckworth of St. Albert the Great School; Drake Hovsepian of John Paul II Academy; and four students from Sacred Heart Model School: Kristin Adams, Kathleen Blim, Sophie Call and Caroline Hamilton.

“Grand recognition” winners are invited to attend a ceremony May 20 at Duke University in Durham, N.C., and also to take part in a summer program at Duke.
A ceremony for those in Kentucky who earned “state recognition” is scheduled for May 24 at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green. A summer program also will be held at Western.

Following are Catholic school students in the archdiocese who received “state recognition:”

  • St. Aloysius in Pewee Valley — Kara Bruns, Jacob Burnam, Natalie Claypool, Ryan Clifford, Connor Davis, Jack Federico, Emily Raque and Logan Wright.
  • St. Patrick School — Abby Birk, Mason Doyle, Caroline Falkner, John Freeman, Zackary Graas and Annemarie Hays.
  • St. Gregory School — Eric Ulrich.
  •  St. Agnes School — Katie Brown, Alexander Feller, Caroline Flaherty, Jack Hardin, Jane Harris, Dane Kokojan, Cassandra O’Connell, Raymond Pfeiffer, Dane Rueff, Patrick Schaefer, Maeve Wattsroy and Cameron Yson.
  • St. Raphael School — Haydon Korfhage and Jacob Morris.
  • Holy Spirit School — Cole Becherer, Ashley Brangers, Clay Foye and Nicholas Heil.
  • Sacred Heart Model School — Salvatore Altobellis, Natalie Beckman, Paul Bradford, Isabell Carrico, Jackson Fuchs, Elizabeth Heuser, Justin Hood, Ella Johnson, Sujin Kang, Shane O’Connor, Katherine Shishmanian, Caroline Tafel, Taylor Utter and Avery Weaver.
  • Holy Trinity School — Christopher Carli, Caroline Foshee, Ian Hubbs, Andrew Klem, Katherine Marx, Ann Radford, Jacob Sullivan, Alejandro Tapia, William Thompson, Lillian Williams and Neville Wintergerst-Burch.
  • Our Lady of Lourdes — Grace Bringard, Elena Brownlee, Nicholas Campbell, Maryli Fitzgerald, Jack Rittenberry, Logan Segeleon, John Stodghill, Molly Uhls and Kelly Weisbach.
  • Holy Family School — Morgan Porter and David Williamson.
  • St. Nicholas Academy — Olivia Atkinson, Miranda Atkinson, Jason Ho, Jordan Powell, Peyton Powell and Brian Long Tran.
  • Notre Dame Academy — Quinten McKinney and Nadine Nzimulinda.
  • St. Stephen Martyr School —  Steele Whitney.
  • St. Martha School — Eric Brian, Zoe Hert, Paul Passanisi and Patrick Sullivan.
  • St. Athanasius School — Elizabeth McClure.
  • St. Mary Academy — Emily Nolan.
  • St. Albert — Lauren Bradley, Jared Chasteen, Lilly Dascendis, Paul McQuillen, William Pisacrita, Jacob Travelstead and John Wolfram.
  • St. Margaret Mary School — Sam Blincoe, Nicholas Buckler, Robert Cox, Tonner Debeer, Alexander Duvall, Max Hanke, Sarah Holston, Ryan Kitchen, Griffin Mercer, Parker Moorman, Hallie Osborne, Tabitha Schlader and Evan Sims.
  • John Paul II Academy — John Kleine Kracht.
  • St. Bernard School — Phillip Brady and Rachel Wheatley.
  • St. Paul School — Brianna Bragg.
  • St. Andrew Academy — Calvin Hawkins.
  • St. Gabriel School — Christopher Kemper.
  • St. Edward School — Olivia Clements and Jacob Potts.
  • St. James School, Elizabethtown, Ky. — Abigail Erckenbrack, Kyle Landis, Theron Lowe, Molly Rovinski and Grayson Stinger.
  • St. Michael School — Mitchell Elliott, Elizabeth Fultz, Samuel Guizio, Sam Leffert, Sarah Michels, Benjamin Shugart and Savannah Williams.
The Record
Written By
The Record
More from The Record
Liturgy Matters — Distribution of holy Communion
What is the invitation to holy Communion? The priest gives the invitation...
Read More
0 replies on “134 archdiocesan students recognized by Duke University”